top of page

Chakras 101

A Chakra is an area of the body that is dense with energy. When your chakras are healthy and vital, they are “open,” but when energy stagnates, one or more chakras can become blocked, or closed, leading to various physical and emotional symptoms. Chakras are part of an ancient system that dates back to 1,500 – 500 B.C., written about in the Vedic texts of India, and passed down through oral tradition prior to that. They’re also mentioned in yogic teachings, which is likely why you’ve already “opened your heart chakra” in yoga class.

There are 7 main chakras, from the top of the head to the root of the spine, nestled right through our center. “Chakra” is the Sanskrit word for “wheel,” and refers to vortexes of energy that reside in and correspond to areas that have vital organs, such as the heart, brain, and reproductive organs. These vortexes are not static the way bones are, but continuously rotate as energy moves through us in upward and downward currents. Think of a figure-8 that repeats itself – with the chakras being the connection points. 
The 7 chakras, from root to crown

Read More
Chakras 101: Welcome
bottom of page